butterfly garland

DSC_0042

I had fun making this tissue paper butterfly garland this last week.  I found the idea here.

All you need is :

DSC_0006

pipe cleaners
string
scissors,
pliers
construction paper
and of course lots of colorful tissue paper:

DSC_0014

I got this bunch at Costco a few years ago and it has been AWESOME!

STEP 1 :CUTTING

Fold the construction paper in half and cut out a butterfly shape.  I had to draw mine first, and I did two different shapes.  If you are interested in using my shapes, leave a comment and I will make a pdf of them… ( oops – sorry!  I’ts been so long I don’t have the shapes any more! I originally just freehand cut it out, you don’t have to be perfect, just real basic, you can do it! – I have every confidence in you!!)

Take a stack of tissue paper that you want to use and fold it in half, and put it in the butterfly template, taco style -so everything is folded in half.   Now cut out the butterflies.  You can seriously cut a large amount of these at once.

DSC_0025

Now using the pliers cut the pipe cleaners in half

STEP 2 – ASSEMBLY:

stack up three pieces of tissue – I used three different colors for each one, just do what you like.  Take a pipe cleaner and bend it in half.

DSC_0021

Take the tissue papers and scrunch them up in the middle, then slide the pipe cleaner over the tissue, and twist the ends to make the antennae.

DSC_0022

now separate and “fluff” out the wings

DSC_0024

Now make more, lots, lots more…

DSC_0033

HANGING

to attach them to the string, simply twist the antennae a time or two more around the string.

DSC_0059

EASY PEASY!  Now hang them up and enjoy.  I hung mine in Chloe’s room,  but Paige now wants some too…

DSC_0053

signature2

9 thoughts on “butterfly garland

  1. Gwennette Mc Master

    I have been on my computer since this afternoon searching for paper lanterns and butterfly garlands to decorate for an upcoming family reunion. I saw tons and then I saw your tissue butterfly garland – FANTASTIC. The colors chosen are beautiful . I am going to forget about the paper lanterns and make tissue paper butterfly garlands – Thank you for sharing this, your colors and style is much preferred to those on the site of the original idea. I love this idea very much- The butterfly is our family logo ( Celebration of Life) and I see myself having fun doing this project.
    Now I am going to try making the butterfly shape however, if yours are still available – Gwenn from Tortola, British Virgin Islands is interested.

    Reply
  2. Jj T.

    What an awesome idea! It’s so cute… I’m trying to make this for my daughter’s first birthday, pls email me the template of the butterfly shape you used. What size is it? Thanks a lot!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

