scrounging for candy canes…

Crazy I know, now that the Christmas Season is over I am looking for candy canes in hidden places here in my home…  here is why:

White Chocolate Candy Cane Popcorn – let me tell you it is GOOD!!  Good enough that I made it a couple of weeks ago and can NOT wait until next Christmas season to eat it again.  And of course I didn’t come across the idea until January, after I had tossed most of my uneaten candy canes! ACK!  But today I have a hankering for some more, and as luck would have it I found ONE candy cane!  I suppose I could go to the store and actually buy peppermints, but it is rainy/snowy and cold – so not gonna happen!

I got the idea from Skip to My Lou.  Basically you pop 1/2 cup of popcorn, sprinkle on a little salt, melt about 1 lb white chocolate (I use vanilla melting wafers – the good kind – not wilton junk, you can use almond bark or chips too), crush up the candy canes real well (you really should have a 3 or 4 at least, but I figured one would be ok for a half batch tonight!), pour the chocolate onto the popcorn and sprinkle on the peppermints and mix well.  Spread it out on a lined cookie sheet and let it set up and EAT EAT EAT!!

Good thing I have started running….
signature2

One thought on “scrounging for candy canes…

Leave a Reply

