c is for cookie

that’s good enough for me…. (hey!)

These are the best sugar cookies in the world. I love them, and have been making them for as long as I can remember.

june-07-bryce-mem-books-yard-001.jpg

I promised to make these for Scott for Father’s Day, but they ended up being a bit late, because it is so hot, cooking in the evening is the only option, and I haven’t been feeling so well, and when the end of the day came I had no energy left. It took a trip to Oregon to finally get them done!, cooler weather up there you know, you can cook all day!

I believe this recipe came from my Grandma Porter, and I don’t know where she got it, I just know I love it!! Here it is:

Sugar Cookies

2c sugar

1c butter (use real butter)

3 eggs

1/2 c cream

1t vanilla

4tsp baking powder

5c flour (plus up to 2 more)

Beat sugar, eggs and butter well. Add rest of ingredients (adding enough extra flour to make it not to sticky) mix, well. (At this point if you have added lots of extra flour and it is still pretty sticky you can refrigerate the dough for a while until it is stiff enough to roll out easier)

Roll out on a floured surface and cut with cookie cutters. Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Frost with your favorite buttercream frosting, (cream cheese frosting or lemon frosting are awesome too!!)

One thought on “c is for cookie

  1. katie

    oh yum. . . i’m really glad you figured out that the cream was the key, because i had given up on these babies.
    also, i love the new layout!

    and i still can’t get over the fact that you saw a BEAR!! a BEAR!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

