bribery

After a year and a half of Chloe asking if it was her turn to go to her preschool yet, she now gets to go. But after two weeks has decided that she doesn’t want to do it anymore. She would rather be with me. Now that is flattering, but does not bode well for all day kindergarten next fall. The answer: bribery. It eventually worked to get her to go to her Sunday school class, and I am counting on it to do the trick again. Yesterday it was going to McDonalds to get an ice cream and play in the play structure, today we decided on making cupcakes with frosting and sprinkles. It’s pretty much the sugar aspect that appeals to her.

Now I know that some might contend that bribery is not the way to go about it, but I look at is as giving her something to concentrate on to get her over the rough “good-bye” moment. I really can’t let that get away from me because it would mean she would be in hysterics and it would be super traumatic and the next day would be worse. So, now that she is four and can be reasoned with (sort of), I can talk her down from her hysterics and offer her something extra special for her willingness to go to her class. She always has fun, she just needs to get over her mommy dependence. It is cute though, she says that I can’t leave until she is cozy. So I give her hugs on my lap and get her all cozy in her school, remind her of the reward and fortunately her teacher Miss Barbara is great at distraction too, and gets her talking. I feel it is not ok to sneak out on Chloe, it would really upset her to look around and find me gone. I always kiss her goodbye and make sure she is comfortable and knows I am leaving.

chloe-_1.jpg

I think Chloe is a lot like me in the respect that change is hard to adjust to. Status Quo, keep the status quo and I am fine, change something and I walk around wondering why I feel so off and a little stressed. So I really relate to my sensitive little girl. Maybe sometimes I wish somebody would bribe me to do the things I don’t want to do…


One thought on “bribery

Leave a Reply

