catching up and cheesecake…

I have been saying “I’ll post pictures later” well here they are:

CINNAMON ROLLS:

cinn-roll.jpg

These I made from recipe out of Americas Test Kitchen Family Favorites cook book. One of my favorite cook books, almost everything I make from it is soo good. (The only thing that I have made that was just ok was the pineapple upside-down cake, for all the work it wasn’t great, I have better recipes…) BUT If you want a good all around cook book this one I highly recommend. But beware, these recipes are a bit involved, not too many one bowl/pot ones in here.

SUGAR COOKIES:

dsc04466.jpg

Happy anniversary cookies, with pink frosting left over from Chloe’s cake, YUM. (ok, I skipped the iron supplements!)

SNOW DAY:

snow-day.jpg

Our first snow day of the year, almost three inches!! woo-hoo big time! We’ll see if we get more, the kids hope so. I love it when it snows too, I love to see it falling. I can say I love the snow because it doesn’t do it very often and usually not too much, so I never have a chance to get sick of it!

CHEESECAKE:

dsc04450.jpg

Nothing says New Years Day like cheesecake. I am not sure why, maybe it sticks in my head from one of my favorite movies Can’t buy me Love, “…new years day at my place, football, cheesecake.” “Aww man book me a couch I’m there”

This recipe is titled; “Mike’s Favorite Cheesecake” I believe my Mom got it from my Grandma?… It is the best no-bake cheesecake recipe ever, and super easy.


8oz cream cheese – softened
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 can cherry pie filling (or blueberry or whatever..)
One Graham Cracker Crust; you can make your own using the recipe below, or cheat and buy one…

  • First put the cream cheese in the mixer and beat it up until it is no longer lumpy, then add the sweetened cond. milk and thoroughly mix, for at least a couple of minutes.
  • Add in the lemon juice and vanilla and mix some more.
  • The key is to mix mix mix. It whips it up and helps it be more stable.
  • Pour the cheese mixture into the crust and refrigerate. (a couple hours at least) Stick the can of pie filling in the fridge too to chill it.
  • When ready to serve you can pour the pie filling onto the pie or serve individual pieces and spoon the filling on each piece.

Graham Cracker Crust:

16-18 graham crackers
1/2 cup melted butter
3 Tbs sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Crush up crackers. (I put them in the food processor.) Add the butter, sugar and cinnamon and mix well. Press into a pie pan or square pan firmly.

So I didn’t even mention the cherry pie I cooked (bought and cooked) or the macaroons I made (almond extract is the key to macaroons!)… so much food I can just feel the pounds adding on…. But it is part of the plan, sugar overload on the Christmas break and I won’t be able to stand the thought of sweets until at least Valentines day!!!

    One thought on “catching up and cheesecake…

    1. Pingback: fathers day for my honey « ninijeanie

    Leave a Reply

    