happy sunday

It is a quiet Sunday afternoon. The weather was in the low 70’s and sunny all day, but right now much to my delight we have a few thunderheads rolling through. You know, it gets all dark and windy, yet it isn’t cold, and then THUNDER!! Wooo-Hooo! And then you get the smell of fresh rain… ahhh LOVE IT.

My sister in law came over to borrow our Indiana Jones trilogy and some Karo syrup to have a family movie night with caramel corn! So I think that sounds like a novel idea and I’m thinking that our own movie night with caramel corn is in order. I am in the mood for Superman…the original movie.

I personally am a fan of chewy caramel corn, and have recently discovered that making it in the microwave makes life so much easier. (well, except for I burned something in my micro a few days ago and I am still waiting for the smell to cease…ugg) So here is a microwave caramel corn recipe I just found that I am going to try today. I will let you know the results, but it sounds YUMMY!

Creamy Caramel Microwave Popcorn

Ingredients
4 tablespoons butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup corn syrup
2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
20 cups popped popcorn
salted peanuts (as many as you desire)
Directions
Mix the butter, brown sugar and corn syrup in a microwaveable bowl.
Microwave on high for two minutes.
Stir mixture and microwave for two more minutes.
Add 2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk.
Microwave three more minutes.
Stir in 1/2 tsp vanilla.
Mix the popcorn and peanuts in a large container. (I used a paper grocery sack)
Combine the microwave mixture with the popcorn mixture.
Mix well.
Store in an airtight container.

ok, the popcorn was easy and pretty fast.  It stays kinda sticky, but is really good.  I am not sure about the peanuts, it makes it taste like cracker jack, which I like, but I will probably leave them out next time.  I will most likely use this again cause it is fast and easy, but I still like my stovetop version a bit better.

3 thoughts on “happy sunday

  1. Mom

    This sounds like a great treat for my July 4th fireworks display party! 20 cups of popcorn needs a “large audience”!!! (Just remind me!)
    Movie marathons when you kids were young… those were good times!

    Reply
  2. katie

    oh i love caramel popcorn. especially the chewy kind. but i’ve sworn off sugar until this baby is born (paranoia about him moving around too much and getting himself back into breech position. . . my own crack pot theory and attempt to control something that in reality i have almomst no control over).

    are you feeling better??

    Reply
  3. megan

    I’m still laughing at Katie’s theory on how to get the baby not to move!!

    I love caramel popcorn- I may have to get your stovetop recipe from you. Although can you believe that your little brother doesn’t like popcorn of any kind?? He doesn’t like the kernals getting caught in his teeth. That makes it way less fun for me to make, and it pretty much shoots down my adopting of Katie and Chips tradition of apples popcorn and cheese for a Sunday night snack. Well I did it last sunday anyway (it is perfect when you don’t want a whole meal!!) But I just ate it by myself!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

