Gingerbread houses

hello, my name is Jeanie and I am a sugar addict

Is it just me or does everyone have a constant mental list of the sweets they want to make? I’m not talking just around the holidays either. On my mental list this week are peanut brittle, fudge, mexican wedding cookies, maybe some no-bake cookies….

We have a family tradition of making gingerbread houses. I usually make the houses from scratch. This year I cheated and Scott bought me some kits from the bakery at his store (this year it is all about no stress or pressure!). The three older kids each decorated their own, it is always a fun time.

gingerbread-houses-08

One of my favorites was a few years back and Dillon was going crazy with the frosting and little licorice ropes, they were ALL over his house. When I asked him about it, he said they were the power lines. (Dillon still decorates in the same crazy manner, notice his house in the middle) It is all about creativity!

I have quite the collection of gingerbread house paraphernalia. I have taught a few classes on making them. I save random pieces of cardboard throughout the year to use as bases for the houses, and I have a book and a binder full of patterns and ideas, and I am always on the look out for more. Obsessed you say?, ..nah.

My best trick is to melt sugar and assemble the houses using the instant glue it makes, instead of waiting a few hours for frosting to harden. If you want instructions, I have made a file including directions and a great pattern for an “elf house” The house is a steep roof type, really cute!

here is the file: gingerbread-houses

Merry Christmas, and happy baking!

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread houses

  1. Megan

    I too must be an addict. I always have a list and I think that tomorrow I’m going to try to make my first Gingerbread men.. I really hope that my recipe works to make them nice and chewy! Maybe next year I’ll get to the houses!

    Reply
  2. Sherri Wiltbank

    We decorated ours yesterday for FHE. I will admit that we use graham crackers instead of gingerbread. It’s probably better that way since the housing “material” might not make it to the build & decorate stage :). Josh is our “crazy decorator”. It was a fun night.

    Reply
  3. katie

    my friend shared the melting sugar for glue trick- it is perfect. but a little maddening. . . i was too slow and it kept hardening up on me before i got the pieces assembled. the houses look so cute ( i love the candy cane heart!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

