making baby food

DSC_0193

I never made baby food before Molly.  I don’t know why I didn’t because it is SO EASY!  And I know exactly what she is eating too.

It is especially easy because of this book that I love:

I started feeding her solids at six months, and this book has been so handy.  She is seven months now, and I will be able to use it for a couple more months, then she will just get to the point that I will be grinding up what I eat, and no special foods will be necessary.  I borrowed it from the library even, so no expense, although I would buy this one, if it was a good deal.

Today I made her chicken with apples and sweet potatoes.  Here is how:  dice half an onion and saute it in 1TBS butter over medium heat until tender.  Cut up one chicken breast and add it to the pan and saute until it is opaque.  Add in one peeled diced sweet potato, one medium sized apple- peeled, cored and diced, and one cup of chicken stock or broth.  Bring it to a boil, cover and simmer it on low until the potatoes are tender.  Then put it in the blender and puree it to your desired consistency.   To store it, spoon it into ice cube trays and freeze it.  When it is frozen pop them out and into a zip bag, make sure to mark the out side of the bag so you know the difference between foods!  To serve, grab a cube or two, and heat it in the micro for about 45 seconds, stirring once half way through.

I usually make a new batch of something every week, it really doesn’t take long and she has plenty to choose from.

Try it, you and your baby will like it!
signature2

2 thoughts on “making baby food

  1. Jeni

    I did the same thing with Grant…I don’t ever think I can bring myself to buy those expensive little jars again! I couldn’t believe how good it tastes too. I’ll have to grab the book when the next kiddo comes around. Thanks Jeanie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

